Loving Life

I’m putting myself out there as one of those pregnant women that other pregnant women hate. I’m absolutely loving being pregnant! Don’t get me wrong, it’s not been easy but it’s certainly an incredible experience now that I’m over the flu-like symptoms, feeling out of control of my weight and fear of the future. This week marks a major milestone in that our baby is ‘viable’ and I can no longer see my feet – the bambino is in the way. I know what it’s like to have a beer belly and I don’t know how people do it!

It’s weird, you hear all these stereotypes about pregnant women being ‘moody’ or having mood swings. It’s justified – it’s bloody hard work growing a human on top of everything else we’re trying to do but (shock horror) I don’t think it’s true! It may be one long happy mood swing, or hormones actually working in my favour for once but I’m just really happy almost all of the time! If you’ve read my blogs before, you’ll know that like most of us, I suffer on life’s up and downs but this is one big up at the moment. Pregnancy has made me a nicer, happier person!

It may be the way that people actually stop and talk to you. Strangers start conversations about your bump and the pregnancy. It’s a real conversation starter and I love it. Instead of the normal chain of events where I try and chat to strangers and they think I’m a nutter, I’m actually getting something back these days…I love it!

It could be that pregnancy hasn’t been as scary as my crazy brain had made me believe it would be. The Doctors remain happy with my progress and are confident in the rest of my pregnancy. Now that everyone’s a bit more relaxed with the pregnancy, the appointment schedule has become a bit lighter which a huge relief.

Maybe I’m now in the swing of things – don’t get me wrong, there’s loads I don’t know and lots to learn – but I’ve got my head around the minefield of baby crap that is needed and have my simple, cut down ‘musts’ list of what we need.

And it’s spring! The flowers are blooming and the sun is out…for now!

Oh I know why I’m so happy….A YEAR OFF WORK! Well, work as I have known it.

I think the main thing is that for the first time in my life, I have to be truly laid back about my future. I can’t control much at all, what’s happening to my body, when I’ll have our bambino, what I’ll be doing and how I’ll feel this time next year. It’s a welcome relief from my control freak personality and I really do love it.

I’ve even loved this last week which has literally seen all symptoms that were previously absent, come at once…not sleeping well, bloating, dry skin, nosebleeds, harder breathing, tiring very easily, heartburn, nausea…but I’m taking it and staying positive.

I’ll continue taking it week by week and although I know my mood may not stay this great for much longer, I’m so grateful for how I’ve felt so far. Thanks body!

Leave a Reply

