2019

I tend to love the New Year; A clean slate, a fresh start and an exciting time span ahead in which to enjoy life and achieve or move closer to your dreams.

Just before The New Year, I took the time to do my favourite annual exercise of reflecting on the past year, things I’ve loved, enjoyed, top moments, achievements and also challenges. It’s a chance to think about what’s made me happy and what hasn’t. This is usually an exercise full of delights, proud moments, sometimes surprises and of course a little pain, depending on how the year unfolded.

On Jan 1st I sat overlooking a lovely beach in Devon, thinking about my intentions for 2019. If possible I love to be somewhere away from the norm and completely open, such as the sea, when I do this.

Importantly this year they’re my ‘intentions’ not my goals or actions. Things I’d like to do, knowing they’ll move me closer to my goals and dreams but not ‘must do’s’ that I can fail at. I’ve recognised that I don’t need to be setting the bar that high, for my own good.

My intentions revolve around these key areas of my life:
– Self – which really is all about my all round health. It includes physical and mental things such as the food I eat and the exercise I do, taking my medicines properly, journaling etc. and setting aside time on my own (a new one this year) – something I love and never do.
– Parenting – remaining true to myself as a parent.
– Friends and Family – from moving towards our family goals and dreams to spending more time with specific people that I love and don’t see enough.
– Work – mainly links to health in maintaining boundaries, maintaining motivations and learning (some) Italian.

I hope in whatever way works for you, you’ve taken the time to reflect on the year gone by, clean the slate and move forward without hindrance into an exciting new year. Bring it on!

New Year’s Day walk along the beach with my little family.

Leave a comment